Dave talks with Tigers coach Adam Griffith following the announcement of the Tasmanian Tigers squad for the JLT Sheffield Shield Round 5 match with South Australia beginning on Tuesday 27 November.

Matthew Wade will become the Tigers’ new Sheffield Shield captain and Alex Pyecroft – a fast bowler from the Tigers Academy has been named in the squad of 12.

Pyecroft could make his debut on the back of impressive form in the Toyota Futures League for Tasmania and the Detail First Premier League for North Hobart.

All-rounder Beau Webster is out for 6-8 weeks with a knee injury after slipping while chasing the ball to the boundary on Day 4 against Victoria and will be re-assessed by doctors in a fortnight.

Ben McDermott returns to the squad following his time with the Australian ODI and T20 squads.

ultra106.5fm is proudly supported by:

The change in captaincy follows conversations between George Bailey and Tigers Head Coach Adam Griffith.

“After having a chat with George, we think it’s best that he plays just as a batsman, to give himself every chance to focus on his batting and get back into form for the remainder of the season,” said Griffith.

“Luckily, here we have a really strong leadership group of senior players who all work together during games and Matthew will step straight into the lead role and continue on the work we’ve already done.”

“Matthew’s got great experience, having captained Victoria for a number of years, and will slide seamlessly into the role.”

Alex Pyecroft’s rise to a potential Shield debut began late last season and featured match figures of 11/97 in the Premier League Grand Final against Clarence.

Then in mid-October, Pyecroft took 4/15 from 15 overs vs. NSW on his Futures League debut.

“Alex has been bowling exactly the way we want our bowlers to be bowling at Shield level,” said Griffith.

“He’s selected from the Tigers Academy. It highlights the pathway opportunity for our club cricketers that if they come into our academy and do well then the next steps are there to be made.”

The Tigers squad is as follows:

Matthew Wade (C)
George Bailey
Gabe Bell
Jackson Bird
Alex Doolan
Jake Doran
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Simon Milenko
Tim Paine
Alex Pyecroft
Jordan Silk

Head Coach: Adam Griffith
Senior Assistant Coach: Jeff Vaughan
Physiotherapist: Ben Hayes
Analyst: Tim Kendrew

This match will begin daily at 10:30am AEDT with a livestream available at www.cricket.com.au. Entry is free.


Standings after 4 Rounds

W  D  L         BP          Total

Victoria                      3  1 0          8.97       27.97
Western Australia   2  1 1          4.72       17.72
New South Wales   1 2 1            4.98      12.98
Tasmania                 1 1 2            4.5          11.5
South Australia      0 3 1           6.14        9.14
Queensland            0 2 2            4.29      6.29